Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Big Brothers Big Sisters Kansas City – Most Wanted Auction

The Arvest Theatre at The Midland was the site for the Most Wanted Auction on December 1st. Each year, Big Brothers Big Sisters Kansas City select honorees – this time, there were 40. Nearly 1,000 guests bid on amazing, once-in-a-lifetime auction packages.

Honoree Amy Grothaus and Liz Lewis


Adam Miller with Sean, BBBS Voice of Potential (and a Little Brother)


Honorees Trent and Erica Jones with Tanna Guthrie, emcee


Little Brother Brian and Big Brother Tim Desett


(Front row) Kirk Molacek, Brian Mankameyer, Maggie Hubbard, Joyce Layman, Melanie Holt, and Sherrie Balmer (second row) Mike Meek, Amy Grothaus, Frank White III, Chelsea Laub, Catie Smith, Molly Britt, and Stephen Elias (third row) Gerron Blackwell, Scott Havens, Elise Kirchhofer, Matt Baysinger, Reggie Britt, and Nathan Oleen (fourth row) Duane Joseph, Michael Carmona, Victoria Mechtly, Erica Jones, Katy and John Hornaday, and Michael Keenan (fifth row) Pat Frederick, Trent Jones, Eric Kelting, Colin Quinn, and Michelle and Josh Kurzban (back row) Tim Grunhard and Steve Moore

Also featured in the January 5, 2019 issue of The Independent
Photo credits: Rob Smith Photography and Adam Kaleikau


The Symphony League – Holiday Luncheon

The Symphony League’s Holiday Luncheon was held on December 12th at Grand Street Cafe on the Country Club Plaza. Symphony Ball Chairman Laurie Burgess and Honorary Chairmen Mary and John…

Johnson County Community College Foundation – Some Enchanted Evening

Christi and Jon Stewart served as the chairmen of the 32nd annual Some Enchanted Evening, a benefit for the Johnson County Community College Foundation. Doctors Mary and David Zamierowski were…

The Folly Theater – Folly Frolic

Ashley and Ramin Cherafat were the honorary chairmen, and Sara E. Welch and Steve Paddock served as the co-chairmen for The Folly Theater’s Folly Frolic, “Celebrating the Renewal of an…

Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas – 45th annual Snow Ball

Fran and Neil Douthat are serving as presidents of the 45th annual Snow Ball, a benefit for Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas. The January 19th event will be held at…