Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Kansas City Ballet Guild – Diamond Ball

Kansas City Ballet Guild’s Diamond Ball kicked off Kansas City Ballet’s 60th anniversary season on October 7th at the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza. Loren and Tom Whittaker were the honorary chairmen, and Melanie and Mike Fenske served as the chairmen. More than 450 guests enjoyed a cocktail party, delicious cuisine, breathtaking decor by Larry Wheeler Design and Craig Sole Designs, entertainment by KOKOMO, and two Kansas City Ballet mini-performances. Guild President Gigi Rose honored Elizabeth Hard Simms with the 2017 Pirouette Award for her commitment to the performing arts.

LarryFLevenson KCBalletBall 2017 E P-161
Mr. and Mrs. Glen Sands


LarryFLevenson KCBalletBall 2017 E P-203
Danielle Bausinger and Mr. Liang Fu, dancers


LarryFLevenson KCBalletBall 2017 E P-238
Dancer Tempe Ostergren and Mr. Andrew Elsberry


LarryFLevenson KCBalletBall 2017 R P-14
Nancy Murdock and Mr. Jeffrey J. Bentley, Kansas City Ballet; Kathy Stepp and Mr. Howard Rothwell, Mr. and Mrs. Mike Fenske, chairmen; and Mr. and Mrs. Tom Whittaker, honorary chairmen


LarryFLevenson KCBalletBall 2017 R P-20
Mr. and Mrs. Bryan Wampler, Mr. James Jordan, Mr. and Mrs. Jack Spilker and Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Baxter


LarryFLevenson KCBalletBall 2017 R P-27
Susan Meehan-Mizer, Maureen Lillard, Mrs. Gary Rose, Guild president;  Mrs. Bill Dondlinger, Mrs. Randall Downing and Mrs. Steven Joyce


Also featured in the November 11, 2017 issue of The Independent
Photo Credit: Larry F. Levenson


The Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts – Menu Release Party

The Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts’ Spotlight Premier Members recently enjoyed the Fall Menu Release Party in The Dining Experience. The event featured Kauffman Center Executive Chef Laura Comer’s…

Kansas City Young Matrons – Civics and Honoring Day

October 1st was the date for Kansas City Young Matrons’ Civics and Honoring Day. The organization, now in its 102nd year, honored the President, Past Presidents, Life Members, Silver Members,…

Catholic Charities Foundation of Northeast Kansas – Kick-off Meeting

The 45th Annual Snow Ball will be held on January 19th at the Overland Park Convention Center. Recently, Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas held a Kick-off Meeting for Snow Ball…

Johnson County Library Foundation – The Library Lets Loose

September 29th was the date for Johnson County Library Foundation’s third annual The Library Lets Loose. Rachel Berbiglia and Rich Cook served as the co-chairmen. Guests enjoyed scrumptious food and…