Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Kansas City Art Institute – Art of the Car Concours

More than 200 vintage cars, classic and special interest cars were on display at the Art of the Car Concours, which was held on June 23rd at the Kansas City Art Institute. A Preview Event took place on June 22nd outside Tivol on the Country Club Plaza. 

Also featured in the August 10th issue of The Independent
Photo Credit: Mark McDonald

Chanda, Hebenstreit, Zeef, Miller
Jacqueline Chanda, KCAI; Jim Hebenstreit, honored for his 1959 Porsche 356D Convertible Coupe; Tom Zeeff and Marshall Miller, event founder and chairman
Arlene Krings, Ruth Tivol
Arlene Krings and Ruthie Tivol
Sir Stirling Moss, Marshall Miller, Tivols
Sir Stirling Moss, Marshall Miller, event founder and chairman; and Cathy Tivol and Harold Tivol, hosts



War Horses For Veterans – The Derby Party

War Horses for Veterans, founded by Andy and Patricia Brown, held its third annual fundraiser, The Derby Party, on May 4th. More than 400 guests watched the Kentucky Derby race…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Spring Luncheon

Lidia’s was the lovely location for the Symphony League of Kansas City’s annual Spring Luncheon on May 8th. Mandy Burditt and Trish Mayer were the co-chairmen. Nearly 60 members and…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Ball Kickoff

Symphony League members gathered at Amy Volini’s beautiful home recently to kick off preparations for the 2024 Symphony Ball, “NOVA.”Amy and Julie Sykes hosted the fun event, where Ball Chairman…

Saint Luke’s Foundation – Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

In the spirit of gratitude, Saint Luke’s Foundation hosted its Spirit of Philanthropy Awards celebration on April 18th at the 1900 Building. Being honored this year are: Philanthropists of the…