Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Child Protection Center – Holidays in Crestwood Luncheon

Amy Embry and Carrie McLiney served as the co-chairmen for the Holidays in Crestwood Luncheon, a benefit for the Child Protection Center. The December 1st event was held at Aixois. The cozy and festive day featured a fabulous lunch, shopping, the annual gingerbread house contest, and much fun. Ten percent of sales benefited the mission of CPC, providing a multidisciplinary response to the prevention, identification, and treatment of child abuse and violence.

Amy Embry, co-chairman; with Nancy Kauffman DuVall, Child Protection Center


Bernard Shondell’s winning gingerbread masterpiece


Karen and Rick Maxson of UKE 66


The UMKC Conservatory Graduate Choral

Featured in the March 23, 2024 issue of The Independent.
Photo credit: David Riffel


War Horses For Veterans – The Derby Party

War Horses for Veterans, founded by Andy and Patricia Brown, held its third annual fundraiser, The Derby Party, on May 4th. More than 400 guests watched the Kentucky Derby race…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Spring Luncheon

Lidia’s was the lovely location for the Symphony League of Kansas City’s annual Spring Luncheon on May 8th. Mandy Burditt and Trish Mayer were the co-chairmen. Nearly 60 members and…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Ball Kickoff

Symphony League members gathered at Amy Volini’s beautiful home recently to kick off preparations for the 2024 Symphony Ball, “NOVA.”Amy and Julie Sykes hosted the fun event, where Ball Chairman…

Saint Luke’s Foundation – Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

In the spirit of gratitude, Saint Luke’s Foundation hosted its Spirit of Philanthropy Awards celebration on April 18th at the 1900 Building. Being honored this year are: Philanthropists of the…