Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art – ARTBEAT

Helen and Frank Wewers were the honorary chairmen for ARTBEAT, which was held on October 9th at the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. Emily Uhlmann Fehsenfeld and Damian Lair served as the co-chairmen. Two current exhibitions, Rafael Lozano-Hemmer: Pulse Topology and Aliza Nisenbaum: Aquí Se Puede (Here You Can), provided the inspiration for the festivities. The event, a benefit for the Museum, featured haute cuisine, entertainment, and dancing. 

Alexandra Moschell and David Terrill
Katie Van Luchene and Jerry Foulds
Char Schwall and Jill Downen
Ellie Closen, Trisha Xue, Grace Noonan, Madeline Long, Alexa Chmieleski, and Jordan Serati
Amy Middleton and Jim Uhlmann
Brad Nichols, Hannah Shah, Meredith Allen, Colby Oberbroeckling, Edwardo Delgado, Damian Lair, co-chairman; Andy Martinez, Stephen Gronek, Brian Pospishil, Robert Schmidt, and Chris Warman

Read more from the December 11, 2021 issue of The Independent
Photo credit: Kenny Johnson Photography


Philanthropy MATTERS

To learn more about becoming a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Greater Kansas City Chapter, please visit afpkc.org. The Independent is proud to be the exclusive media partner of AFPKC.…

The Loop KC

The Loop KC brings together similar yet unique minds to create genuine friendships and ignite the next generation of business leaders in Kansas City. Members of The Loop KC are…

Rachel’s Reads – December 2021

As the year wraps up and we cross our fingers that our gifts will arrive on time, I am continuing the tradition I started several years ago of sharing my…

17th annual Night Out with MOCSA

The members of the Crestwood Women’s Network served as the honorary co-chairmen of the 17th annual Night Out with MOCSA. Heather Bortnick and Libby Henry were the co-chairmen for the…