Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Jewel Ball Party – Gatsby Casino Party

Jewel Ball debutantes, floor committee members and escorts rolled the dice and enjoyed a night of dancing during the Gatsby Casino Party. The affair was held at the Muehlebach Tower of the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Margaret Schaff, Maddie Jurden, Maggie Frame, Anna Reintjes, Tori Taggart, Christine Tinsman, Emma Schaff, Caroline Savage, and Cassie Sterbenz were hosts. 

Also featured in the July 27th issue  of The Independent

Sarah Ingram and Nelson Costello
(Front row) Carolyn Sterbenz, Mark Frame, Phil Taggart, Ann Tinsman, Alice Schaff, and Peter Schaff (second row) David Savage, Cynthia Savage, Caroline Reintjes, and Jim Tinsman (third row) Lenny Jurden, Janet Taggart and Greg Reintjes (fourth row) Julie Jurden, Dan Sterbenz and Cathy Frame 




War Horses For Veterans – The Derby Party

War Horses for Veterans, founded by Andy and Patricia Brown, held its third annual fundraiser, The Derby Party, on May 4th. More than 400 guests watched the Kentucky Derby race…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Spring Luncheon

Lidia’s was the lovely location for the Symphony League of Kansas City’s annual Spring Luncheon on May 8th. Mandy Burditt and Trish Mayer were the co-chairmen. Nearly 60 members and…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Ball Kickoff

Symphony League members gathered at Amy Volini’s beautiful home recently to kick off preparations for the 2024 Symphony Ball, “NOVA.”Amy and Julie Sykes hosted the fun event, where Ball Chairman…

Saint Luke’s Foundation – Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

In the spirit of gratitude, Saint Luke’s Foundation hosted its Spirit of Philanthropy Awards celebration on April 18th at the 1900 Building. Being honored this year are: Philanthropists of the…