Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault – Community Luncheon

Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault (MOCSA) held its Community Luncheon on May 5th. More than 1,000 guests gathered for the event, which was held at the Muehlebach Tower of the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Ann and Josh Rowland served as the honorary chairs, and Monica Gray and Tanesha Ford were the event co-chairs. Denise and William Marshall and Leah and Arlan Vomhof served as the community support committee co-chairs. The keynote speaker was Jodi Kantor, New York Times investigative reporter. On the evening prior to the event, the Rowlands were the hosts for the Patrons’ Party at their lovely home. Proceeds support MOCSA’s work to improve the lives of those impacted by sexual assault and abuse and prevent sexual violence in our community.

Mayor Quinton Lucas


(Seated) Janet Mark, Helen Wewers, Jamila and Dr. Michael Weaver, and Alison Erickson (standing) Kayla Lagud, Sofia Lira, Kristine Seaman, and Lindsey Elmore


(Seated) Captain Troy Osborn, Detective Sergeant Nick Rothwell, and Chief Dale Finger, Leawood Police Department; and Mayor Peggy Dunn with Detective Jack Bond, Leawood Police Department (standing) Julie Berger and Diane Stoddard with Detective Curtis Rice and Officer Christina Farquhar, Leawood Police Department


(Seated) Elizabeth Danforth, Anissa Parra-Grooms, Laura Curry Sloan, Lori Fluegel, Nancy Putnam, and Erika Lawler (standing) Andrea Gomez, Michelle McConnell, and Halley French


(Seated) Kim Hobbs, Jayne Martin, Xochitl Glaser, and Claire Early (standing) Tristin Kuhn, Sheila Sickau, Megan McMullen, Anne Scharf, and Lara Krug


Melanie Fenske, board chair; with Julie Donelon, MOCSA


Jessi Bixler, board member and survivor speaker


Josh and Ann Rowland, honorary chairs; Arlan and Leah Vomhof and Denise and William Marshall, community support committee co-chairs; and Julie Donelon, MOCSA



Featured in June 10, 2023 issue of The Independent.
Photo credit: Matthew Hicks


KidsTLC – Benefit23

KidsTLC hosted Benefit23, a dreamy evening filled with pajamas and a fun celebration (sounds wonderful!) led by Chairmen Sarah and Ryan Owings. With delightful cocktails from J. Rieger & Co.,…

Catholic Charities Foundation of Northeast Kansas and New Roots – The Gathering

Teresa Walsh hosted the 11th annual occasion of The Gathering, a benefit for Catholic Charities Foundation of Northeast Kansas and the New Roots program. Missy Kuklenski served as the chairman.…

Junior League of Wyandotte and Johnson Counties – Meet and Greet/Icebreaker

Being fitted for formalwear before the Community Ball and Cotillion on December 2nd should be fun, so the Junior League of Wyandotte and Johnson Counties hosted a Meet and Greet/Icebreaker…

The Family Conservancy’s Blue Carpet Event

The Family Conservancy’s Blue Carpet Event was held on October 13th at The Abbott. Partygoers enjoyed cocktails, dinner, live music, a wine pull, and silent and live auctions. Sly James…