Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

The Junior League of Wyandotte and Johnson Counties – Community Ball and Cotillion

The Junior League of Wyandotte and Johnson Counties’ 69th Annual Community Ball and Cotillion was held on December 7th at the Muehlebach Tower of the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Guests enjoyed a gourmet dinner, elegant decor, and the presentation of the debutantes, escorts, and pages. Tiffany Bosarge and Angie Masloski were the Ball co-chairmen, and Monica Browne and Sally Dannov served as the Cotillion co-chairmen.

Sally Dannov, Cotillion co-chairman; Carol Coombs, and Haley Cappelli


Evie Martin, Reagan Lucille Wilson, and Charlie Jane Wilson, pages


Linda Riley, Eileen Heble, Shandin Duffer, Caitlin Eckard, Sandra Olivas-Talavera, president; Kiely Phelan, Sarah Cointment, Geralynn Baxter, and Lisa Quinlan


Denny and Lori Robinson, Stuart and Kelli Littlefield, and Angie Masloski, Ball co-chairman


Lenny Mullin and Sandra Olivas-Talavera, president


Sam Ingraham, Gracie Lewis, Dr. Christopher and Lisa Sirridge, Jason and Regina Klepikow, and Katherine and Florentino Camacho


The Honorable William Mahoney presented Molly Mahoney.


Gina McCord, Kelli Littlefield, Ellie Long, Cali Wing, Katie Scherzer-Cop, and the Honorable Jane Sieve-Wilson


Randy Sedlacek and Dr. Mary Ventura


Chante Miller, Dawn Rattan, and Maya Rattan 

Additional photos featured in the February 8, 2020 issue of The Independent
Photo Credit: David Riffel


Kansas City Ballet Guild – Nutcracker Luncheon

The Muehlebach Tower of the Kansas City Marriott Downtown was the site for the Kansas City Ballet Guild’s Nutcracker Luncheon, which was held on December 12th. Everyone enjoyed seeing the…

HALO – ArtReach Auction

HALO will celebrate 15 years of growth and thousands of lives changed at the Annual HALO ArtReach Auction. The February 28th event will be held at The Abbott. Annie and Ryan Anderson…

The Kansas City Ballet – Nutcracker Ball Private Dinner

Supporters of the 2019 Nutcracker Ball were guests at a private dinner on the stage of the Muriel Kauffman Theatre at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts on December…

Lyric Opera Circle – Holiday Luncheon

December 4th was the date for the Lyric Opera Circle’s Holiday Luncheon, which was held on the rooftop of the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza. Rachael Sabates served as…