Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

The University of Central Missouri – 150 Years

The University of Central Missouri marked its sesquicentennial during Homecoming, which was held on October 22nd and 23rd. The fun featured a ribbon cutting, an endowment-signing ceremony, a dinner in honor of seven Distinguished Alumni Award recipients, a donor-appreciation breakfast, a party in the park, and even a parade with mules!

UCM Alumni Foundation Board Members (Front row) Yolanda Cargile, Jerry Harmison, Diane Dudley, Phyllis Collins, Cory Bittner, Peter Carmack, Sam Gonzalez, Mary Dandurand, Carol Dobies, Ron Umphenour, Shirley Kleppe, Marc Tuttle, Meryl Lin McKean, Michael Harding, Scott Solomon, and Brock Lewark (back row) Rob Ruth, Mike Davidson, Chip Gentry, Homer Kay, Gary Abram, and Barry Davis


Don Calder, Donna Lake, Distinguished Alumni Award winner; and Evan Maize


Geri Wiseman, Derek Wiseman, Distinguished Alumni Award winner; and Jim Wiseman


Read more from the December 11, 2021 issue of The Independent


The Loop KC – Taylor Limoges

The Loop KC brings together similar yet unique minds to create genuine friendships and ignite the next generation of business leaders in Kansas City. Members of The Loop KC are…

AFPKC’s Philanthropy MATTERS: Julianne DeLessio

To learn more about becoming a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Greater Kansas City Chapter, please visit afpkc.org. The Independent is proud to be the exclusive media partner of AFPKC.…

Rachel’s Reads – December 2021

As the year wraps up and we cross our fingers that our gifts will arrive on time, I am continuing the tradition I started several years ago of sharing my…

17th annual Night Out with MOCSA

The members of the Crestwood Women’s Network served as the honorary co-chairmen of the 17th annual Night Out with MOCSA. Heather Bortnick and Libby Henry were the co-chairmen for the…