Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

WIN for KC – Women’s Sports Awards Celebration

February 7th was the date for WIN for KC’s Women’s Sports Awards Celebration. The 26th annual event was held at the Kansas City Convention Center. Natalie Coughlin, American swimmer and 12-time Olympic medalist, was the keynote speaker. Maria Maffry and Whitney Bartelli served as the co-chairmen. The event is the largest celebration of National Girls and Women in Sports Day.

Lauren Akason and Selyna Tibbetts


Committee Members: (Seated) Maria Maffry, co-chairman; Janell Rock, Erica Davis, and Jennifer Ingraham (standing) Whitney Bartelli, co-chairman; Lauren Pollimer-Harms, Babette Macy, Marcia Youker, Natalie Coughlin, keynote speaker; Ashley Brookerd, Mary Buschmann, Wendy Bailey, and Michelle McConnell


(Seated) Samantha Hammontree, Jana Merfen, Rebecca Sommers, and Brenda VanLengen (standing) Jessica Blubaugh, Mary Buschmann, Jake Jacobson, Shelley Rosetta, Marcia Youker, Natalie Coughlin, keynote speaker; Babette Macy, Shannon Johnson, Nicole Collier White, Julee Koncak, Emily Ward, and Krishna Lee


Flora Haug, Claire Richards, Whitney Rodden, Natalie Coughlin, Lois White, Brijhana Epperson, and Meredith Doyle


(Front row) Anna Golian, Emily Ervin, Madison Fischer, Cate Wietharn, Ilana Fingersh, Mayah Haug, Shyann Tibbetts, Carmen Gudino, and Selyna Tibbetts (middle row) Jordan Sogaard, Kendall Bub, Mackenzie Meyer, Maggie Schutt, Abby Clement, Kailey Wink, and Kennedy Wolf (back row) Maureen Browne, Liv DeSantis, Lauren Akason, Katie Cooper, Abby Long, Quinn Weakley, and Justine Bichelmeyer

Also featured in the March 21, 2020 issue of The Independent
Photo Credit: Laura Fitzgibbons Photography


Art Scene – Onnissia

Twenty-seven-year-old Onnissia (pronounced oh nee see yuh), born in South Central Los Angeles, became interested in art when she was seven years old. “I was told by everyone that I…

Symphony Ball – Stardust

On March 11th, members of the Symphony Ball Committee gathered at Kate Banks’ lovely home to celebrate the revealing of the plans for this year’s Symphony Ball, “Stardust.” Melanie Fenske…

Grow It And They Will Come: Producing the Produce

Our Town is full of the most innovative, delicious, accessible, and inviting selection of produce and the means by which to achieve healthy sustenance. One need not dig very far…

Home Sweet Home

Residents of Our Town have been staying busy while they practice social distancing. Cheers to the simple things in life! Boy Scout Troop 393 Member Ben P. has been living…