Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

ArtsKC Regional Arts Council – Annual Awards Luncheon

February 28th was a big day for ArtsKC Regional Arts Council: a celebration of its 20th anniversary with the Annual Awards Luncheon. Nate Orr and Richard Wetzel served as co-chairmen for the event, which was held at the Kay Barnes Ballroom of the Kansas City Convention Center. Shirley Bush Helzberg, Joan Israelite, Janice Kreamer, Henry Bloch, the Muriel McBrien Kauffman Foundation, and Artist INC, were honored for helping to advance the arts and the mission of ArtsKC. Each honoree received an award that was handmade by Stephen Proski. His artwork was featured throughout the event: his hand-sewn tapestries were on display at the Artist Reception and his porcelain “silly cups” served as centerpieces. Calvin Arsenia, AY-MusiK, The Living Room Theatre, The Sextet, and the horn quartet of the Kansas City Symphony performed.

Julia Irene Kauffman accepted the Pillar Award on behalf of the Muriel McBrien Kauffman Foundation.


Ashley Miller and Calvin Arsenia, performers


(Front row) Jeff Serven, Lisa Ginter, and Angie Endicott (back row) Matt Johnson, Amy Grothaus, Amanda Clark, Allison Steinbeck, Erin Evans, Debbie Swearingen, and Bob Glaser


Nate Orr and Richard Wetzel, co-chairmen


Cheryl Eve Acosta and Leo Prieto 


Joan Israelite and Janice Kreamer, honorees; Bob and Barbara Bloch, Dana Knapp, ArtsKC; and Shirley Bush Helzberg, honoree

Also featured in the March 30, 2019 issue of The Independent
Photo Credit: Rivas Photography


Alphapointe – Boots & Pearls, Wine & Whiskey

Alphapointe’s fourth annual Boots & Pearls, Wine & Whiskey event was held on February 22nd at the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum. Scott Thornhill, Alphapointe, gave a moving speech on his…

Benedictine College’s Scholarship Ball

Lené Westerman and Colleen McGraw O’Malley and Kevin O’Malley were the co-chairmen of Benedictine College’s Scholarship Ball. The 48th annual event raised more than one million dollars. Guests enjoyed special…

The Children’s SPOT – Once Upon A Time

Anne Gagel and Simon McGee and their children, Fintan, Eoin, Cormac, and Paxico McGee, served as chairmen of The Children’s SPOT at Saint Luke’s Hospital’s Once Upon A Time event.…

14th Annual HALO Kansas City ArtReach Auction

The 14th Annual HALO Kansas City ArtReach Auction was held on February 22nd at the Brass on Baltimore. Susie and Chad Wollard were the honorary chairmen. Hero of the Year…