Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

The Kansas City Jazz Orchestra – Stardust Gala

Cathi and David Brain served as the honorary chairmen for The Kansas City Jazz Orchestra’s Stardust Gala on April 7th at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Partygoers enjoyed cocktails, dining and dancing to classic Kansas City big band jazz, with 17 musicians and Molly Hammer, vocalist; under the direction of Artistic Director Clint Ashlock. Sally Bibb, board chairman; was the head of the Gala committee, which created a magical evening for all who attended.

Kay Johnson, Nancy Jensen, Laura Neidel, and Penny (Slicer) McDermott


R. J. Trowbridge, Cara Duke, Alex Beck, Jon Hill, Reagan Fromm, Laura Hill, and Megan and Andy Pence


Clint Ashlock, Kansas City Jazz Orchestra; on flugelhorn


Gala Committee Members: (Front row) Dorene Shipley, Jon Goodman and Gene and Linda Hall (back row) Jim Prevost, Sally Bibb and Dick Fagerberg (out of camera range) Benny Lee and Stephanie Noland


Rita Ashley, Shirley Douglas with Angela Wright-Jones and David Jones


Rick Powell, Nick Powell, Spence Heddens, and Craig Mahurin


“Stompin’ at the Savoy” with The Kansas City Jazz Orchestra 


Sally Bibb, board chairman; Mary Ventura, Randy Sedlacek and Jan Armstrong

Also featured in the May 12, 2018 issue of The Independent
Photo Credit: Brian Turner


The Symphony League – Holiday Luncheon

The Symphony League’s Holiday Luncheon was held on December 12th at Grand Street Cafe on the Country Club Plaza. Symphony Ball Chairman Laurie Burgess and Honorary Chairmen Mary and John…

Johnson County Community College Foundation – Some Enchanted Evening

Christi and Jon Stewart served as the chairmen of the 32nd annual Some Enchanted Evening, a benefit for the Johnson County Community College Foundation. Doctors Mary and David Zamierowski were…

The Folly Theater – Folly Frolic

Ashley and Ramin Cherafat were the honorary chairmen, and Sara E. Welch and Steve Paddock served as the co-chairmen for The Folly Theater’s Folly Frolic, “Celebrating the Renewal of an…

Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas – 45th annual Snow Ball

Fran and Neil Douthat are serving as presidents of the 45th annual Snow Ball, a benefit for Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas. The January 19th event will be held at…