Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault – Community Luncheon

More than 800 guests gathered for Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault’s (MOCSA) Community Luncheon, which was held on April 29th at the Muehlebach Tower of the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Janelle Williams Melendrez and Jeffrey Bucholtz were the keynote speakers. Ann Abercrombie and Kristin Tyson were the honorary co-chairmen, and Monica Gray was the chairman. Janea and JP Roberts and Denise and William Marshall served as the community support committee co-chairmen. On April 28th, Ann and Kristin hosted the Patrons’ Party at CrossFirst Bank on the Country Club Plaza. Proceeds support MOCSA’s work to improve the lives of those impacted by sexual assault and abuse and to prevent sexual violence in our community. 

(Seated) Kurt Yoder and Scott Lambers (standing) Brad Robbins, Mark Teerink, Nick Rothwell, Troy Osborn, Mayor Peggy Dunn, Dale Finger, and Chuck Supple


(Seated) JoAnn Tognascioli, Joy Steincross, Marilyn Barth, and Susan Tideman (standing) Rebecca Pryor, Delight Davis, Dr. Elisa Silverstein, Stephanie Allen, and Elliott Phillips


(Seated) Lori Fluegel, Laura Curry Sloan, Marvetta Johnson, and Kara Larson (standing) Diane Marty, Elizabeth Danforth, and Jeff Beeson


(Seated) Carolyn Messick, Megan McMullen, Kalinda Calkins, Kimberly Hobbs, and Jen McDonald (standing) Anne Scharf, Denise St. Omer, Lara Krug, and Gelsomina Picariello

Featured in the June 11, 2022 issue of The Independent.
Photo Credit: Adam Vogler


Kansas City Young Matrons – Mistletoe Party

Kansas City Young Matrons held its annual Mistletoe Party on December 9th. Members and their guests gathered at Blue Hills Country Club and enjoyed a festive evening filled with fellowship…

Junior League of Wyandotte and Johnson Counties in Kansas – 72nd Annual Community Ball and Cotillion

Gina Brozenic, Lindsey Golubski, and Sara Willimon were the co-chairs, with Marsha Oyer serving as Cotillion chair, for the Junior League of Wyandotte and Johnson Counties in Kansas’ 72nd Annual…

Kansas City Ballet Guild – Land of the Sweets Nutcracker Ball 2022

The Kansas City Ballet Guild hosted its 55th annual gala, Land of the Sweets Nutcracker Ball 2022, at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center on December 3rd. Barbara and…

Symphony League – Holiday Luncheon

Mission Hills Country Club was the site for the Symphony League’s  Holiday Luncheon on December 14th. President Katherine Schorgl recognized Johyne Hamra for her 25 years of membership. Ursula Terrasi,…