Subscribe Today

Save almost 50% off the newsstand price!

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider.

Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

United WE – We Work For Change

September 29th is the date for We Work For Change. United WE, formerly the Women’s Foundation, will host the afternoon event, which will celebrate equity, diversity, and 30 years of empowering women. The festivities will include both virtual activities and an in-person VIP exclusive. The featured speakers are Mellody Hobson of Starbucks, Tina Tchen of Time’s Up, and Tiffany Dufu of The Cru. Lindsey Patterson Smith is serving as the honorary chairman, and Mary Jane Judy and Dan Cranshaw are the co-chairmen.  

Dan Cranshaw, co-chairman; Lindsey Patterson Smith, honorary chairman; Wendy Doyle, United WE; and Mary Jane Judy, co-chairman

Also featured in the June 24, 2021 issue of The Independent
Photo credit: Matthew McNeal Photography


2021 Class of Rising Stars – Luke Deets

Family is a driving force in Luke Deets’ philanthropic work. He is a humble, relationship-driven leader who sees opportunities to provide support to those in need and does not hesitate…

Big Brothers Big Sisters Kansas City – 2021 Empower Breakfast

André Davis is serving as the chairman for the 2021 Empower Breakfast, a benefit for Big Brothers Big Sisters Kansas City. André’s dedication to the organization has included stints as…

The Loop KC

The Loop KC brings together similar yet unique minds to create genuine friendships and ignite the next generation of business leaders in Kansas City. Members of The Loop KC are…

Junior League of Kansas City, Missouri’s – Holiday Mart Beneficiaries

Bartle Hall will be the site for the Junior League of Kansas City, Missouri’s Holiday Mart. The annual shopping event will be held September 30th through October 3rd. This year’s…